This is the "Home" page of the "Research Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Sources  

Last Updated: Dec 17, 2012 URL: http://smnw.smsd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=372446 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

To get to the State Library of Kansas databases, click "Explore Our Resources" on the left side.  

Select a Database:  one of the General Research resources work well for most searching needs.

 Shawnee Mission Northwest databases

ABC-CLIO: American History, World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras, World History: The Modern Ers, World at War, World Georgraphy, World Religions, Issues

Get username and password from librarian

Local newspaper articles- Kansas City Star

 

 

 

 

Citing EBSCO

When using Student Research Center, to get the citations in correct MLA format:
 
 

Google Scholar

Look up Books

You can find books from SMNW or from any SM school library.

 

Books Like the One I Just Read

                                                         
                   Select Kansas State Databases from the right column.  Click on "Explore Our Resources" Choose Novelist to explore authors or a specific book to discover read-a-like recommendations, book discussion guides, reviews, and more!

 

Finding Support Articles

Select Kansas State Databases.  Click on "Explore Our Resources". 

Select one of the General Research databases. Be sure that you are searching for "full text" articles.

Select Literary Reference Center to browse and search full-text of literary works alongside journal articles, author biographies, and reviews.

Articles have bibliographic information needed for your citation.

 

 

Gale Virtual Library

http://galesites.com/menu/smnorthwestlibrary

15 eBook Titles

click on the GVRL box on the right

Password: cougars

 

Working from home and saving your work

  • Access your H-Drive from home

1. go to SMNW Homepage

(www.smsd.org; click Schools and select SMNW)

2. click on Web Back Pack (left sidebar)

3. scroll to top, click on Students in left sidebar

4. log on (use your school information)

5. click on H-Drive in sidebar to access work saved at school

 

IMPORTANT:  when working from a non-SMSD computer, be sure to save your work AND then upload the file to the H-drive in order for the most updated version to be saved on your H-drive at school.

 

·       For students with Mac at home: save to a flash drive, save as Word files, or save as an RTF (rich text format)

·         Students cannot bring in their personal laptop and expect to be able to print.  They have to be issued a “guest wireless password” (by librarian) which takes 24-48 hours to become active

Johnson Country Public Library

Select Research, then select the database by topic or Databases A-Z

You will need a JCPL library card and PIN.

Subject Guide

Carolyn LaFever
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Google Stuff

Try using Google Docs instead of having to carry around a flash drive.

googledocs1
 

Need a dictionary?

 

Encyclopedia Sources

Encyclopedia Britannica

Access through State Library link

www.kslib.info

Select "Explore Our Resources"

MLA Format

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip