This is the "Home" page of the "Research Guide Social Studies/Anthony" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Guide Social Studies/Anthony  

Last Updated: Mar 6, 2012 URL: http://smnw.smsd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=305379 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Carolyn LaFever
Contact Info
Send Email

Google Scholar

When researching using Google you can narrow the search with these tips:

  • Put quotes("" ) around the term to search only that phrase
  • To eliminate a word, use NOT 
  • Capital letters and articles are ignored unless in quotes
  • The root form of a word looks for all forms of the word
  • Use a tilde (~) to search with other word of similiar meaning
  • Putting a plus (+) in front of word to keep it exactly as it is
  • The word OR allows grouping of two words or phrases

From Ten Items All Should Know when Using Google Basic Search...Far From Basic!

by Michael Gorman

 Google Scholar can narrow your search to the "scholarly" sources

 



Databases

To get to the State Library of Kansas databases, click "Online Resources" on the left side.  

To search ALL of the databases at one time, Select General OneFile, Select "Tools" at the top, from the drop down menu, select "Change Databases", click the SELECT button.  You are now Power Searching!

 Shawnee Mission Northwest databases

ABC-CLIO: American History, World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras, World History: The Modern Ers, World at War, World Georgraphy, World Religions, Issues

Get username and password from librarian

 

 

 

Selected Titles

Cover Art
The Passing of An Illusion
Call Number: 335.4 Fur
ISBN: 0226273407
Partial contents: The revolutionary passion -- World War I -- The one country -- Communism and fascism -- Communism and anti-fascism --
Anti-fascist culture -- World War II -- Communism and the end of World
War II -- Cold War communism -- The beginning of the end.

Cover Art
The American Age
Call Number: 327.73 LaF
ISBN: 0393964744
A history of American foreign relations from the mid-eighteenth century to the present. Covers the momentous events that ended the Cold War and thrust the United States into the uncertain position of the world's only superpower.
+

Cover Art
The Cold War
Call Number: 909.825 Mau
ISBN: 073771414X
Presents essays that describe the history and impact of the
Cold War.

Cover Art
Historical Dictionary of the Cold War
Call Number: 909.82 Smi
ISBN: 0810837099
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide
information about various aspects of the Cold War, covering civilian and
military leaders, crucial countries and peripheral conflicts, weapons
systems, negotiations and conferences, and other related topics.
Includes a chronology, and a list of acronyms.

Cover Art
The Cold War
Call Number: 909.82 Sib
ISBN: 0313298572
Designed for student research, a one-stop resource for the
study of the cold war, combines narrative description, analytical
essays, biographical profiles, and the text of primary documents into a
comprehensive guide.

Cover Art
The New York Times The Cold War
Call Number: 909.82 Gav
ISBN: 1579583210
Contains articles from the "New York Times" which trace the development and profile key events and figures of the Cold War...2 volumes

 

Citing Sources

 

OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab

http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

Good source for all of your writing needs!

Avoin plagiarism! Get it right!

www.easybib.com

 For best results, use Manual Entry

 

Need Local News Sources

Kansas City Star

www.kcstar.com

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip